A Closer Look at the Winners of Bright Awards 2018

Brought to you by Media Design School, the Bright Awards are a celebration of secondary school students across Aotearoa, in Years 11-13, who are bringing their creative craft to life.

The Bright Awards recognise New Zealand’s emerging creative talents in five categories: Animation, Graphic Design, Photography, Games, and Web & Interactive. As 2018’s Bright Awards come to an end, we celebrate the winners in each of these categories.

Each category winner is awarded two major cash prizes: $1000 for themselves and $3000 for their secondary school to put towards further nurturing their students’ creative abilities.

We received over 150 amazing entries from almost 70 schools across the country. The quality of the entries was outstanding however we had to narrow it down to one winner and two highly commended per category.


The incredible winners of Bright Awards 2018:


Winner – Matthew Denton, Hagley College – ‘Short Stem’

The judges commend Matthew on his beautiful drawings and good understanding of tonality, key highlights and complimentary colours.

Highly Commended – Simon Hollows, Burnside High School – ‘A Hearth’s Warming Gift’

Highly Commended – Stephen Kelsey, Albany Senior High School – ‘Welcome to Acidalia’



Winner – Rosa Watson, Epsom Girls Grammar – ‘Fritter Magazine’

The judges were particularly impressed with Rosa’s quality use of illustration which “shows a level of maturity beyond the current level of study”.

Highly Commended – Jackie Liu, Macleans College – ‘Missing Something?’

Highly Commended – Eli Molloy-Wolt, Kerikeri High School – ‘Headspace’



Winner – Delos He, Macleans College – ‘Heterogene’

The judges commend Delos on his ability to “translate the insalubrious feeling of this overcrowded apartment complex through the use of light, values and great composition”.

Highly Commended – Jordan Hamilton, Auckland Boys Grammar School – ‘Exploring Auckland’

Highly Commended – Stefan Fuchs, Westlake Boys High School – ‘Hourglass’



Winner – Matthew Inglis, Elim Christian College – ‘What a Trash Game’

The judges complimented Matthew on his game’s appealing style and good message.

Highly Commended – Dallas Harvey, Otamatea High School – ‘Stickgame’

Highly Commended –  Gervince Michael Go, Burnside High School – ‘Final Vessel’



Winner – Angus Lynch, Hobsonville Point Secondary School – ‘The Life of Turning’

The judges described Angus’s work as a “beautifully constructed and documented narrative-driven website”.

Highly Commended – Pakjira Jitsawatpaiboon, Bayfield High School – ‘Lake Tekapo Tourism Web Design’

Highly Commended – Kieran Baird, St Peter’s College, Palmerston North – ‘SPC Bots’


We also celebrate the winner of our School of the Year, Macleans College, for demonstrating their excellent ability to produce talented students in the fields of digital and traditional design.

Congratulations to all of this year’s Bright Award Winners! See samples of the winners work here

For those interested in entering, Bright Awards will be back again next year so keep your eye on our website and Facebook page for all the details.